Wednesday, 07 March 2018 14:39

Welsh, Olesinski Earn Pac-12 All-Academic HM


Both student-athletes have excelled on, off the court as economics majors


SAN FRANCISCO– UCLA senior Thomas Welsh and redshirt sophomore Alex Olesinski have earned honorable mention status on the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball All-Academic Team, as announced by the conference office Tuesday.


Welsh, a 7-foot center from Redondo Beach, Calif., was named an honorable mention on the All-Academic Team after having secured second-team honors as a sophomore and junior. Welsh is just the third student-athlete in program history (along with George Zidek and Alfred Aboya) to have secured Pac-12 All-Academic Team honors in multiple seasons. Welsh is on track to graduate this spring with his undergraduate degree in economics.


Olesinski, a 6-foot-10 forward from Roswell, N.M., earned honorable mention All-Academic Team accolades for the first time in his career. Currently, in his third year as a student at UCLA, Olesinski is majoring in economics.


Welsh has averaged 12.7 points and 10.5 rebounds per game and was named a second-team All-Pac-12 selection when the conference’s year-end awards were announced Monday. He has registered 16 double-doubles in 30 games, the highest single-season double-double total at UCLA since Kevin Love had 23 double-doubles in 2007-08.


Olesinski has played a vital role as a forward off the bench. He has averaged 4.5 points and 4.0 rebounds in all 30 games after having sat out (redshirt year) the 2016-17 season. Olesinski is shooting 53.6 percent from the field and 35.9 percent from the three-point arc.


To be eligible for the conference’s academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.


This season’s first-team All-Academic selections include Nick Hamilton (California), Jeff Pollard (Washington State), Dorian Pickens (Stanford), Gligorije Rakocevic (Oregon State) and Stephen Thompson, Jr. (Oregon State).


Second-team All-Academic honorees include Malachi Flynn (Washington State), Jayce Johnson (Utah), Chimezie Metu (USC), Tres Tinkle (Oregon State) and Parker Van Dyke (Utah).


The other nine players from the Pac-12 to secure honorable mention acclaim are Milan Acquaah (Washington State), Robert Cartwright (Stanford), David Collette (Utah), Drew Eubanks (Oregon State), Shannon Evans II (Arizona State), Kodi Justice (Arizona State), Jordan McLaughlin (USC), Kodye Pugh (Stanford) and Keith Smith (Oregon State).


No. 4-seed UCLA (20-10) will face the winner of Wednesday’s first-round meeting between No. 5-seed Stanford and No. 12-seed California this Thursday afternoon. The Bruins’ quarterfinal game of the Pac-12 Tournament will begin at 2:30 p.m. (PT) on Thursday, March 8. The Pac-12 Tournament will take place at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Last modified on Wednesday, 07 March 2018 14:51
Login to post comments